October 28 - 31, 2024, Kyoto, Japan


The 17th International Conference 

on Electrostatic Precipitation

Photo Provided by Kiyomizu-dera Temple

Registration is now open!

Deadline (Early registration): 31st July 2024

CAUTION: If you are a Presenter, please complete registration and payment by May 31, 2024.

Registration is now open!. Please complete "REGISTRATION_FORM.docx" and return to <icespjapan[at]gmail[dot]com (Type "@" and "." instead of "[at]" and "[dot]", respectively)>. If you are a Presenter, please complete registration and payment by May 31, 2024. If this condition is not met, we may not be able to include your Abstract in the Program & Abstract Book that will be distributed at the conference. For non-Presenters who wish to attend the meeting, the Early registration deadline is July 31, 2024. Please note that the registration fee will increase after this deadline of early registration. Please see Important dates and Registration fee.

If you need the document for VISA, please see Travel Information (VISA).  

We look forward to seeing you in Kyoto in October.

Abstract submission has been closed.

Deadline: 29th February 2024

Extended Deadline: 15th March 2024

Participants wishing to give an oral or poster presentation must submit a one-page abstract via e-mail. Abstracts must be written in English following the format given in the abstract template, available below. Up to two abstract submissions are permitted for one conference registrant as presenter. Conference papers called full paper (up to 10 pages) are expected to be prepared after the abstract acceptance notification. 

Submit your abstract by e-mail*: icespjapan[at]gmail[dot]com 

 *Type "@" and "." instead of "[at]" and "[dot]", respectively.

One page abstract template download here.


One page abstract template download here.

Announcement on publishing in a special issue of the IJPEST

Deadline: December 31st, 2024

The full paper will be distributed electrically on proceedings at the conference. Authors have an opportunity to publish their work in a special issue of the International Journal of Plasma Environmental Science and Technology (IJPEST). Submitted full papers will undergo a regular review process before publication. If you would like to publish your paper, you must revise and resubmit the paper after the conference. The publication fee for presenters of ICESP 2024 Japan is free. The deadline for submissions is December 31st, 2024. Further details will be announced later.  


If you cannot download the file, please contact us. (icespjapan[at]gmail[dot]com).



The Society of Powder Technology, Japan

The Association of Powder Process Industry and Engineering, Japan

Japan Association of Aerosol Science and Technology

This conference is supported by the Hosokawa Powder Technology Foundation (Grant Number HPTF23002).





The International Conference on Electrostatic Precipitation (ICESP) have been organized in Monterrey, CA, USA (1981), Kyoto, Japan (1984), Abano Terme, Italy (1987), Beijing, China (1990), Washington, D.C., USA (1993), Budapest, Hungary (1996), Kyongju, Korea (1998), Birmingham, Alabama, USA (2001), Mpumalanga, South Africa (2004), Cairns, Australia (2006), Hangzhou, China (2008), Nuremberg, Germany (2011), Bangalore, India (2013), Wroclaw, Poland (2016), Charlotte, North Carolina, USA (2018), Hangzhou, China (Due to the pandemic situation, ICESP XVI could not be held in Hangzhou in 2021) and Budapest, Hungary (2022). The ICESP conference will return to Kyoto in Japan after 40 years.

The conference objective is to provide a platform for exchange of ideas and concepts on the state-of-the-art of electrostatic precipitation, related sciences, and technologies, for power generation, cement, glass, pulp and paper, metallurgical and other industries. The Conference will cover one day of ESP School and three days of technical presentations. The technical presentation will consist in oral presentation and poster presentation.

Topics (Technical presentations)

Contributions from the following research fields including plasma applications are welcomed. We look forward to your submissions.

Lectures (5th ESP School)

ESP SCHOOL was organized in XIII ICESP (Bangalore, India, 2013) for the first time, covering tutorial lectures by experts on various aspects of electrostatic precipitation mainly for students, young engineers and researchers.  It has continuously been held in every ICESP afterwards, and XVII ICESP (Kyoto, Japan, 2024) is planning to hold the 5th ESP SCHOOL mainly related to the following subjects:


We look forward to receiving sponsorship applications.

If you cannot download the file, please contact us. (icespjapan[at]gmail[dot]com).

Gold Package

JPY 900,000

Silver Package

JPY 600,000

Bronze Package

JPY 300,000

*If you wish the exhibition during the conference, please consult with the organizing committee.

*If you wish the advertisement only in the conference program, please consult with the organizing committee.